Amy Burk elected to CPC Athletes’ Council

Canadian Paralympic Committee: OTTAWA – Four Paralympians have been elected by their fellow athletes to the Canadian Paralympic Athletes’ Council, the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) announced today.

Amy Burk (goalball), Jeremy Hall (Para rowing), Tyler McGregor (Para ice hockey), and Abi Tripp (Para swimming) will be members of the council for the next four years.

They join Ina Forrest (wheelchair curling), vice-chair Erica Gavel (wheelchair basketball), and Mike Whitehead (wheelchair rugby), who were elected in late 2020. Outgoing members of the council are Rob Armstrong (Para ice hockey), Jennifer Brown (Para athletics), Alison Levine (boccia), and chair Tony Walby (Para judo).

The council will soon elect a new chair, who will also sit on the CPC Board of Directors.

Burk, a four-time Paralympian and longtime leader in her sport, most recently competed in Portugal last month, where Canada finished fourth in the 2022 goalball world championships.

“I am extremely excited to be elected to the Canadian Paralympic Athletes’ Council,” said Burk, originally from Charlottetown, PEI but now living in Ottawa. “I am looking forward to learning more about the council and what I can do to help make sure athletes have a voice in our sports system and continue to promote the Paralympic Movement here in Canada. Thank you to all my fellow athletes who took the time to vote.”