2022 Americas Championship

January 19, 2022 – It is with great pleasure that we announce the national goalball teams to represent Canada at the 2022 Americas Goalball Championship, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 15th – 22nd February. The IBSA Americas Championship will serve as the only qualification opportunity for the 2022 World Goalball Championships for Canadian teams.

Both squads have an excellent blend of development and senior athletes. With several countries from the 2020 Paralympic Games attending, both teams are expecting tough competition, and eager to get the international season kick started with a successful tournament.

Amy Burk, team captain of the women’s team outlined her team ambitions and expressed her excitement to start the 2022 international season “We’re really looking forward to starting the year off with a great tournament. With the Americas Championships being a qualifying chance for the upcoming World Championships, the team is eager to get going. I am honoured to lead this great group of women into Brazil.”

Trent Farebrother, Women’s Head Coach, agrees, the “team is excited to get back on the competition floor after Tokyo 2020. They come into the competition healthy and look forward to another high caliber competition. The team look to build on their defensive showing from Tokyo. They will be led offensively by Amy Burk and Emma Reinke”

For the men, Nathalie Séguin, Men’s Head Coach, is also eager to get back on the court and to get that qualification spot, “the team is excited to participate to the Americas Championship and come back with a medal and a World Championship qualification spot. The athletes trained hard in the last months and are focussed and determined to achieve our goal!”

Blair Nesbitt, from the men’s program also shared the excitement and eagerness to get back on the court, building of the famous Pele quote “The more difficult the victory, the greater the happiness in winning.”, Blair states “It is through much adversity that we make our way to the Americas Championship, and we are happy to provide this opportunity for a mix of veteran and development players. We intend to keep that momentum going forward and securing our spot for World Championships.”

Women’s Team
Amy Burk, Ontario
Brie Baldock, Alberta
Emma Reinke, Ontario
Maryam Salehizadeh, British Columbia
Meghan Mahon, Alberta
Whitney Bogart, Ontario

Men’s Team
Aaron Prevost, Alberta
Ahmad Zeividavi, British Columbia
Blair Nesbitt, Alberta
Brice Parker, Ontario
Douglas Ripley, British Columbia
Peter Parsons, Nova Scotia

Staff Team
Women’s Coach: Darren Hamilton
Men’s Coach: Nathalie Séguin
Women’s Physio: Meghan Buttle
Men’s Physio: Nadine Smith
Team Manager: Stephen Burke